Be Careful About Every Word You Utter

60a1772c66ebb91964440f59ad04946c.jpg

I remember one time I was upset with an area in my life and I nonchalantly said “I wish I was dead” in a low tone almost under my breath. Soon after I felt a spirit of death trying to attack me. Of course I repented and renounced my foolish words.

Although something like this probably won’t occur to most people (at that point in my life I was heavily targeted by the enemy) it goes to show the enemy can use the opportunity to invade your life by the words you utter whether it was your intent or not.

The words we speak have so much significance that God said that we will be judged by every word we speak.

Matthew 12:34-37 “34 ….. for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh. 35 A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things. 36 But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. 37 For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.”

On a side note, the scriptures read in Exodus 20:7 “Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain; for the Lord will not hold him guiltless that taketh his name in vain. It’s a sad fact that many people use the name of Jesus as a curse word. You hear people say it everywhere whether it is out in the streets or in the movies. Out of all the names in the world to use as a vain word they use the name that is above all names (Phil. 2:9). Not the name of Allah, Muhammad, Krishna, Shiva, or Buddha but the name of the only begotten Son of God.

Leave a Reply

